Skip to main content


Common Core State Standards

What are the Common Core Standards

Educational standards describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject in each grade. In California, the State Board of Education decides on the standards for all students, from kindergarten through high school.

Since 2010, 45 states have adopted the same standards for English and math. These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Having the same standards helps all students get a good education, even if they change schools or move to a different state. Teachers, parents, and education experts designed the standards to prepare students for success in college and the workplace.

The California Department of Education helps schools make sure that all students are meeting the standards.
 Below you will find a short video about the standards and the CCSS-related activities taking place in California in English and Spanish.

Spanish- What are the Common Core Standards?

English- What are the Common Core Standards?

Common Core Connections for Parens

Common Core Connections